History of Hebut

As the first institution in China to cultivate advanced industrial talents, Hebei University of Technology (HEBUT) is located in Tianjin, a city with a proud historical and cultural heritage. As a pearl on the Bohai Bay, Tianjin is one of the four municipalities under the Central Government. It is a national demonstration zone for financial innovation and services, an experimental area for reform and opening up, and an international shipping hub for northern China.

Mr. Zhou Xuexi, first chancellor of HEBUT, the most important modern industrialist in Northern China, put forward the concept that “talent cultivation is the school’s top concern while technology is utterly essential for the livelihood of the people. Therefore, education and technology carry equal weight and complement each other. In one word, technology cannot flourish without education, whereas education can not display its importance without technology.” The school-run factory he built was the first in China. Since then, “integrating education with economic growth, engineering practice and social service” has become the distinct characteristics of this school.

HEBUT, originally under the name Beiyang Technical School, was established in 1903 and gained its present name in 1995. In 1996, it became the only key university in Hebei Province under “Project 211”. In 2014, the People's Government of Hebei Province, the People's Government of Tianjin and the Ministry of Education of China signed the co-sponsorship agreement. In 2016, Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Chemical Engineering and Technology entered the provincial list to build “World First-Class Disciplines”. At the same time, Mechanical Engineering, Management Science and Engineering, Electronic Science and Technology, and Civil Engineering entered the provincial list to build “National First-Class Disciplines”. In 2017, HEBUT became the only one university in Hebei Province to be listed in the “Double First-Class” initiative (the country's construction plan of“world-class university”and “world-class discipline”). In the same year, HEBUT entered the national list to build “World First-Class Disciplines” (Advanced Equipment Engineering and Technology as the target discipline cluster). It also entered Tianjin’s list to build “Double First-Class” universities, focusing on Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, as well as on the five discipline clusters of Biological Science and Technology, Regional Energy and Environmental System Engineering, Tianjin-Hebei Smart City Infrastructure, Green and Safe Chemical Technology, Bejing-Tianjin-Hebei Big Data Analysis and Managerial Decision Making. In recent years, the three disciplines of materials science, chemistry and engineering have respectively entered the top 1% of ESI global rankings. In 2020, it was awarded "national civilized campus".

HEBUT has 3 campuses in Tianjin and Langfang with more than 30000 full-time students and more than 2700 staff. The university offers 78 undergraduate programs, 25 first-level disciplines for master’s degree programs, 7 discipline categories (including MBA and EMBA) for professional master’s degree programs, 10 first-level disciplines for doctoral degree programs and 9 post-doctoral programs.

The university has been shortlisted in the first batch of 37 "second-class" Pilot Universities in China and approved as "National Model University for Deepening Innovation and Entrepreneurship Education Reform" and "National Advanced Unit of Social Practice".

In recent years, HEBUT has implemented the “Undergraduate Education Quality Improvement Program” featuring the combination of “theory, practice and innovation”, and has nurtured a large number of graduates competent in both innovation and practice.

For over a century since its founding, HEBUT has cultivated nearly 270,000 talents for China, including national and provincial leaders, outstanding scientists, revolutionary martyrs who fought for national independence, and well-known entrepreneurs who have contributed to national rejuvenation.

Education is the foundation of universities, and scientific research is the key to cultivating talents. HEBUT has undertaken a large amount of National Key High Technology Research and Development Programs, thus providing talent support for the economic development of Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei Region and the country.

With a global vision, HEBUT has cooperative programs (from bachelor’s degrees to doctorate degrees) with over 60 universities from America, Europe, Oceania, and Africa.

HEBUT has established intercollegiate relationships with world-renowned universities, including Cornell University, University of Arizona, University of California, Riverside, Case Western Reserve University, State University of New York, Finnish Lapenlanta Lahti University of TechnologyUniversity of British Columbia, University of Ottawa, University of Manchester, University of Western Australia, etc. More than 1,000 students of HEBUT, funded by the state, have engaged in collaborative programs. At the same time, HEBUT cooperates with 7 leading universities and institutions (including Politecnico di Milano) to co-build the OIPEC (Open Innovation Platform for University-Enterprise Collaboration) .

For over a century, “diligence, prudence, integrity and loyalty”, as the unique university motto, has been well seasoned; “integrating education with economic growth, engineering practice and social service”, as the remarkable university characteristics, has been well tempered. In the new era, HEBUT is expected to have a more incredible future.